Nothing Crumby About Crumbs and Doilies

Catherine here!

Today I ventured to Piccadilly Circus with a few friends. It was my birthday a few days ago so I managed to force my friends to gather for cupcakes, since I’ve wanted to visit Crumbs and Doilies for a while now.

It’s somewhat hidden down a small alleyway that isn’t really an alleyway. Veering off the road, you’ll spot a bright blue archway, which leads up to the small but quaint cupcake shop. It’s in a cosy square lined with various cafés and restaurants, many of which are three stories tall.

Not Crumbs and Doilies, though. Tucked into its little nook, all six of us squished inside and gazed upon the glorious cupcakes. The selection wasn’t as big as I’d expected, but I think some are made to order; others are for certain holidays. They offer tiny ones and bigger ones. I just went for the latter.

Pictured (left to right): white chocolate and matcha cupcake, Oreo cookie cupcake, tiramisu cupcake

You can purchase a box of 12 tiny cupcakes or 6 regular sized cupcakes for £17. It was a bit too pricey for me, so I bought these three. Their banana split one looked very birthday appropriate and colourful though. A couple of my friends tried their brownies and said they were a bit sweet, but pretty delicious too.

I loved the cupcakes I tried – the tiramisu and the white chocolate and matcha cupcakes, and my boyfriend thought his Oreo cookie one was “the best cupcake he ever had.” The cake itself and the icing were both soft, light, and airy. They’re quite big and substantial; they’ll probably fill you up. Fair warning: you will get icing on your nose.

Taste: 5/5 – I think they were the nicest cupcakes I’ve ever had too.
Price: 3/5 – it’s pretty expensive in there, especially if you want a box of them for friends or family, but they’re good for a treat.
Ambience: 4/5 – it’s very small and quiet inside, but it’s in a nice square; my friends and I found a bench outside to enjoy our cupcakes.

Reply

