Muffin Much Better Than The Pastry Parlour

Hi, Catherine again.

I went for an interview a few days ago – on an empty stomach, because I was too nervous to eat (and I call myself an adult). So afterwards I ventured a minute down the road to find The Pastry Parlour, a sleek-looking place tucked away beside a fountain.

7nzfma0

This was the lovely lineup that waited inside. The macarons are really quite big (for which I was thankful), but all the food looked so good I really wanted to try one of everything…

bbgqtcx

Pictured: salted caramel cupcake, cappuccino (£2.50), lemon macaron

I’m afraid I forgot to take note of all the prices, but you can see a lineup of some of their food on their website here.

The atmosphere was nice. Outside you could see the fountain with horse statues, a dedication to when a team of horses escaped their stables and ran through those London streets. Inside, marble tables decorated the place, and my boyfriend and I opted to sit before one of their big windows.

📍 Location: 8 Piazza Walk, London E1 8FU

💰 Price: 3.5/5. It’s a wee bit pricey for some things, but then again having a couple of macarons from Ladurée costs more than having this big one.

🍰 Taste: 4.5/5. My lemon macaron was perfect. It had a slightly crunchy texture on the outside, but was soft on the inside – and I was surprised by the lemon filling. So tasty… um, anyway. The cappuccino was really good too; they pride themselves on serving gourmet coffee. Frothy at the top – good stuff. My boyfriend enjoyed his cupcake too (and let me try a bit).

🏙 Ambience: 4/5. It is a bit tucked away in a corner; it seems like a spot for locals since it’s surrounded by apartments, but it’s also in the heart of quite a business-oriented area. If I’d got the job I’d applied for, I would’ve gone in there for lunch very often. It’s close to Aldgate Station too, so it’s not a far walk if you’d like to try it out.

Reply

