Flat White: A Latte of Love

Please forgive the (expertly crafted) title.

Hey everyone, Catherine here!

I ended up sleepily stumbling into Soho last week to run some errands. Because of my inability to be a fully functioning adult my poor sleeping schedule, I was excited to find that Flat White, a coffee shop I’ve wanted to visit for a while now, was nearby where I had to go. (By excited I mean grateful to whatever higher powers exist that I would be able to stay awake for the next couple of hours.)

On a street bustling with food stalls, Flat White sticks out with its small black storefront and minimalist name etched atop the store. It has two little benches right outside, but it seems to be a busy street so I’m not sure I’d want to sit there. I wandered inside to the sounds of clinking cups and a low hum of conversation. It’s small: I was immediately beside the till and staring up at the menu, determined to appear nonchalant despite nervously avoiding eye contact with the barista.

flat whitew

Pictured: Flat white: £2.80

I ordered a flat white. Obviously. If unsure what to go for, just opt for that. It’s the store’s namesake; seemed like a solid choice. I was expecting good things since their website states that they serve “refined artisan style coffee.” I don’t consider myself a coffee connoisseur, but I was assuming it’d be of a high standard.

Dude, it really was. It was the best flat white I’ve ever had. It tasted… perfect. The beans hadn’t been over-roasted, the ratios were perfect, and the art atop the coffee is so expertly done. If you want a top quality coffee, I’d seriously recommend heading to Flat White. I give pretty high scores as it is, but I was honestly left impressed afterwards.

I felt more awkward taking a photo here than anywhere else I’ve been though, maybe because it’s such a small store and the baristas could see me being an awkward hipster taking photos of my coffee. (It’s for the greater good, I tell myself; I have a blog!)

Ratings

📍 Location: 17 Berwick Street, W1F 0PT

💰 Price: 4/5. Kinda expensive for a flat white. My local coffee shop sells flat whites for £2.20. Then again, in coffee chains such as Costa and Starbucks, theirs go for £2.60, so it’s not much up from that.

🍰 Taste: 5/5. I can’t say anything bad about how it tasted. Best flat white I’ve ever had. Unfortunately I didn’t have time to try their food, but their breakfasts all sound amazing. I’ll go back and try one sometime soon!

🏙 Ambience: 3.5/5. Lots of market stalls outside which obscure the view a little, but it’s nice to see all the food in the area. Inside, it’s really small and narrow. Next time I’ll try to have my order ready in my head before going inside so I don’t have to awkwardly stand at the till, feeling like I’m in the way. They bring your coffee and food to your table though. Their menus were cute. The area it’s in is good for shopping.

Reply

